

ANNUAL REPORT OF THE NOMINATIONS AND ELECTIONS COMMITTEE

It is my pleasure to present the report of the nominations and elections report for the 2018 process.

The Governance & Ethics Committee is reportable to the Board. With specific reference to the Nomination & Elections process, the mandate of the Governance & Ethics Committee is to:

"Include facilitating the identification of qualified candidates for election to the Board of Directors and to provide for the proper conduct of the Director elections including overseeing an orderly, open, transparent and democratic Board election process. The intent of the election process is to encourage broad-based, informed, active and effective member engagement."

Our By-Laws, Section 5.01 states: "*The Board of Directors shall consist of no less than nine* (9) and no more than twelve (12) members, who shall be elected at annual meetings or special meetings where elections are to take place".

The Committee provided oversight to the nomination and election process including the notices for nominations being available in our branches, on our in-branch monitors and on our website, in accordance with Board approved policy, procedures and By-Laws.

This year we received three nominations for two vacancies which resulted in an election. During the past several weeks, in accordance with policy, in-branch voting was held for the three nominees. Additional voting was conducted prior to calling of the AGM this evening. We confirm that all ballots were counted under the observation of scutineer,

The following is the results of the election:

- Rod Gilroy ____Votes Cast.
- Laura Hicks ____ Votes Cast.
- Tom Taggart _____ Votes Cast.

I DECLARE THAT the following two nominees are declared elected: ______

I MOVE that the ballots be destroyed. May I have a seconder.

On the question; MOTION CARRIED

We continue to encourage Members to submit their nominations in advance of the AGM to enable a more democratic in-branch voting process.



Respectfully submitted,

Jean Costin Board Vice Chair & Chair of the Nomination & Elections Committee April 25, 2018